Main areas of research

Structural and functional biology of the enzymes involved in the biosynthesis and inactivation of steroidal hormones

Active investigators

Fernand Labrie, Van Luu-The, Alain Bélanger, Georges Pelletier, André Tchernof, Chantal Guillemette, Olivier Barbier, Sheng-Xiang Lin, Léonello Cusan, Donald Poirier, Sébastien Gingras, Jonny St-Amand and Claude Labrie

A leading role in intracrinology

Investigators in this field of research played a leadership role over the last 30 years in developing a new discipline in endocrinology called intracrinology which demonstrates that an important part of androgens and estrogens are synthesized locally in target tissues via the precursor steroids secreted by the adrenals. These sex prohormones play a major role in human physiology and in many prevalent pathological conditions linked to excessive hormone activity (for example, hirsutism or endometriosis) or to insufficiency (osteoporosis and menopause) or whose evolution is sensitive to the action of these hormones (hormone-dependent cancers of the endometrium, breast and prostate, obesity, dyslipidemia and diabetes).

Leadership and cutting-edge technology - Pioneers of high end methods of analysis

Many of our investigators are pioneers in the purification and characterization of the enzymes involved in the synthesis and inactivation of sex steroids and the understanding of the mechanisms of regulation of their encoding genes. They can pursue their research program thanks to the ultrasensitive and specific methods of analysis which are available, mainly mass spectrometry, crystallography and various approaches in functional genomics.

Grands axes de recherche

Biologie structurale et fonctionnelle des enzymes de la biosynthèse et de l’inactivation des hormones stéroïdiennes

Chercheurs actifs

Fernand Labrie, Van Luu-The, Alain Bélanger, Georges Pelletier, André Tchernof, Chantal Guillemette, Olivier Barbier, Sheng-Xiang Lin, Léonello Cusan, Donald Poirier, Sébastien Gingras, Jonny St-Amand et Claude Labrie

Un rôle de premier plan dans l'intracrinologie

Les chercheurs de cet axe ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans la mise en évidence, il y a déjà plus de 30 ans, d'un nouveau domaine de l'endocrinologie désigné l'intracrinologie, qui démontre qu'une proportion importante des androgènes et des oestrogènes est synthétisée en périphérie dans les tissus cibles, à partir de stéroïdes précurseurs sécrétés par les surrénales. Ces prohormones sexuelles jouent un rôle prépondérant dans la physiologie du corps humain et dans plusieurs conditions pathologiques prévalentes reliées à un excès (hirsutisme et endométriose), ou à une insuffisance (ostéoporose et ménopause), ou dont l’évolution est sensible à l’action de ces hormones (cancers hormono-sensibles de l’endomètre, du sein et de la prostate, obésité, dyslipidémies et diabète).

Des pionniers grâce à des méthodes analytiques de pointe

De plus, plusieurs chercheurs de cet axe sont des pionniers dans la purification et la caractérisation des enzymes des voies de synthèse et d’inactivation des stéroïdes sexuels ainsi que dans la compréhension des mécanismes de régulation de l’expression des gènes qui les encodent. Ils poursuivent donc leurs travaux grâce à des méthodes analytiques hautement sensibles et spécifiques, utilisant principalement la spectrométrie de masse, la cristallographie ainsi que les diverses approches en génomique fonctionnelle.