Main areas of research

Identification of genetic, endogenous and environmental risk factors for hormone-sensitive disease

Active investigators

Jacques Simard, Francine Durocher, Marie-Claude Vohl, Louis Pérusse, Vincent Raymond, Chantal Guillemette, Olivier Barbier and Pierre Julien

For a targeted therapeutic approach

Genomic and genetic epidemiology studies are done to identify genetic risk factors and their interactions with other genes and hormonal or environmental factors involved in the susceptibility to breast, ovarian and prostate cancer within a CIHR clinical research network "CIHR Team in Familial Risks of Breast Cancer" as well as endometrial cancer in collaboration with the "Nurses Heath Study and the Women’s Health Study". The goal of these international studies is to develop risk prediction models, improve interventions in risk reduction and develop therapeutic approaches that are better adapted to the different categories of patients.

A multicentric clinical research program

Other investigators use similar approaches in order to better understand the genetic and endogenous determinants and their regulation by nutritional compounds on the physiopathology of obesity and adjustment to exercise as well as their effects on the principal risk factors of cardiovascular disease and diabetes. Studies have also been performed to evaluate the effect of pharmacological and nutritional interventions on the sensitivity of insulin and glucose tolerance, in order to characterize the hormonal factors involved in gestational diabetes. A multicentric research program (IRNPQEO: 6700 subjects), involving the implementation of a biobank (1.5 million aliquots), was developed in order to study the risk factors (genetic, hormonal, nutritional and environmental) involved in the physiopathological conditions associated with oxidative stress. Because of the nature of their work, many investigators are actively involved in the CARTaGENE project, an infrastructure that will facilitate populational genomic research.

Intersectorial research to accelerate the development of knowledge will help healthcare officials to decide on recommendations about diagnostic genetics and changes in the treatment of participants in clinical studies in light of the most recent genetic discoveries.

Grands axes de recherche

Identification des facteurs de risque génétiques, endogènes et environnementaux des pathologies hormono-sensibles

Chercheurs actifs

Jacques Simard, Francine Durocher, Marie-Claude Vohl, Louis Pérusse, Vincent Raymond, Chantal Guillemette, Olivier Barbier et Pierre Julien et Jonny St-amand

Pour des approches thérapeutiques mieux adaptées

Des études en génomique et en épidémiologie génétique sont effectuées afin d’identifier les facteurs de risque génétiques et leurs effets d’interactions avec d’autres gènes et facteurs de risque hormonaux et environnementaux, impliqués dans la susceptibilité aux cancers du sein, de l’ovaire et de la prostate dans le cadre d’un réseau de recherche clinique des IRSC «CIHR Team in Familial Risks of Breast Cancer» et de l’endomètre dans le cadre d’une collaboration avec l’étude «Nurses Heath Study et Women Heath Study». Ces études internationales ont pour objectifs le développement de modèles de prédiction de risque, l’amélioration des interventions de réduction du risque et des approches thérapeutiques mieux adaptées aux différentes catégories de patients.

Un programme de recherche clinique multicentrique

D’autres chercheurs utilisent des approches similaires afin de mieux comprendre les déterminants génétiques et endogènes ainsi que leur régulation par les composés nutritionnels sur la physiopathologie de l’obésité et l’adaptation à l’exercice et leurs effets sur les principaux facteurs de risque des maladies cardiovasculaires et le diabète. Des études sont aussi effectuées afin d’évaluer les effets d’interventions pharmacologiques et nutritionnelles sur la sensibilité à l’insuline et la tolérance au glucose, afin de caractériser les facteurs hormonaux impliqués dans la grossesse diabétique. Par ailleurs, un programme de recherche clinique multicentrique (IRNPQEO : 6700 sujets), impliquant la mise sur pied d’une biobanque (1.5 million d’aliquots), a été développé afin d’étudier des facteurs de risque (génétiques, hormonaux, nutritionnels et environnementaux), impliqués dans des conditions physiopathologiques associées au stress oxydatif. Compte tenu de la nature de leurs travaux, plusieurs chercheurs se sont impliqués activement dans le projet CARTaGENE, une infrastructure qui facilitera la recherche en génomique des populations.

Effectuer des recherches intersectorielles dans le but d'accélérer le développement des connaissances facilitant ainsi la tâche des décideurs en santé dans l’établissement de recommandations sur les tests de diagnostic génétique, la prise en charge clinique des participants et l'évaluation des soins de santé qui pourrait être modifiées, suite aux découvertes génétiques