Services

Protein Crystallography

For a better understanding of the mechanisms of action

X-Ray protein crystallography makes it possible to study the three-dimensional physical structure of proteins and thus better understand their mechanisms of action and links with other molecules that are present in cells or administered as drugs.

Identifying molecular interaction sites

Crystallography of the enzymes responsible for steroid formation has helped the CREMOGH to identify the first enzyme structure responsible for steroid formation in humans,namely the one responsible for estradiol formation, a hormone essential to reproductive functions and the basis of fertility. Since the understanding of cell biology calls for detailed knowledge of the interactions between the different proteins and other parts of the cell, the crystallography platform is a major asset in the identification of molecular interaction sites that can be used for the action of specific inhibitors or activators in the efficient fight against disease.

The very high level of precision obtained also makes it possible to reproduce the protein on a computer and plan new molecules to be made by chemists. These molecules will be able to interact more efficiently with the enzyme and block its action more effectively while reducing side effects.

Services

Cristallographie des protéines

Pour mieux comprendre les mécanismes d’action

La cristallographie des protéines par rayons-X permet d’étudier la conformation tridimensionnelle des protéines et de pouvoir ainsi mieux comprendre leurs mécanismes d’action et leurs liaisons avec d’autres molécules présentes dans la cellule ou administrées comme médicaments.

Identifier les sites d’interactions de molécules

Ainsi, la cristallographie des enzymes responsables de la formation des stéroïdes a permis d’identifier au CRCHUL la première structure d’une enzyme responsable de la formation des stéroïdes chez l’humain, soit celle responsable de la formation d’estradiol, hormone essentielle à la reproduction et qui est à la base de la fertilité. Comme la compréhension de la biologie de la cellule nécessite une connaissance détaillée des interactions entre les différentes protéines et les autres composantes de la cellule, la plateforme de cristallographie devient un atout important pour pouvoir identifier les sites d’interactions de molécules qui pourront servir d’inhibiteurs ou d’activateurs spécifiques dans la lutte contre les maladies.

La très haute précision obtenue permet également de pouvoir modéliser la protéine sur ordinateur et ainsi pouvoir planifier des nouvelles molécules à être fabriquées par les chimistes, les molécules interagiront de façon plus efficace avec l’enzyme et pourront mieux bloquer son action tout en diminuant les effets secondaires.